Menu Close

Vegan Granola. Why Not All Granola is Suitable for Vegans

So, vegan granola? Some might call this stating the obvious. Others might just say ‘Well, duh’. But is it really that simple? Is all granola suitable for vegans?

Traditional Granola Ingredients

Let’s examine the ingredients of traditional granola and then see what’s in there that might not be vegan.

Typically, granola is a mixture of oats, nuts, and sweeteners like honey or sugar. It often includes other grains, dried fruits, and seeds for extra crunch and flavour. Oats are the primary ingredient in granola, providing not only an excellent source of fibre and complex carbs but also the defining texture that is granola. Not much concern for your average vegan there.

Nuts, such as almonds, pecans, or walnuts, provide essential healthy fats and proteins. Again, all good on the vegan front.

Sweeteners, such as honey or brown sugar, are used to enhance both flavour and texture, alongside fats and oils that create the all-important texture that makes granola well, granola. These can both raise red flags for those on a plant-based diet, so let’s explore them in more detail.

Fats and oils in granola

The good news for vegans is that dairy or animal fats are rarely used in commercial granola, partly due to cost and partly due to shelf life. Although butter may be a key ingredient in homemade granola recipes, the granola you pick from the shelf is more likely to be made with some type of vegetable oil. Do watch out for non-sustainable palm oil. Vegan it may be, but it is not very planet-friendly.

Sugars in granola

Most manufacturers of healthy granola are trying to reduce, or even omit, refined sugars in their cereal. As replacing these with artificial sweeteners is out of the question, many are turning to natural syrups such as honey.

Generally speaking, honey is not considered vegan because it comes from bees. Bees produce honey as a way to store food for themselves, especially for the winter months when there aren’t as many flowers to gather nectar from. When humans harvest honey, they often replace the bees’ hard-earned food with a sugar solution that is significantly less nutritious.

Therefore, many vegans opt to exclude honey from their diet, respecting the labour of bees and aiming to minimize harm towards them. However, some vegans consider locally sourced, sustainable honey as an exception. As with many things in veganism, it often comes down to individual decision-making based on one’s ethical considerations.

Find out more about sugar in cereal in our article on low-sugar granola

Healthy Vegan Granola

Luckily, there are plenty of options for plant-based granola, using natural syrup alternatives to honey. The most popular, in terms of both nutritional value and flavour, is maple syrup granola.

Maple syrup as a vegan sweetener

Maple syrup is a fantastic vegan alternative to honey, offering a rich, distinctive flavour profile and a host of nutritional benefits. The sap of maple trees, this natural source of sweetness is completely plant-based, making it a perfect fit for vegan diets. Unlike refined sugars, maple syrup is rich in minerals and antioxidants. Its lower glycaemic index compared to regular sugar makes it a healthier choice for maintaining stable blood sugar levels. Remember, as with any sweetener, moderation is key to balance taste and health benefits.

Have you tried our award-winning maple nut crunch vegan granola yet?

Agave syrup natural vegan sweetener

Not everybody loves the distinct flavour of maple syrup but there is another natural syrup that is completely vegan. And that’s agave syrup.

Agave syrup, also known as agave nectar, is a natural sweetener derived from the core of the agave plant. It has a neutral taste and a smooth, velvety texture which make it a versatile ingredient in vegan recipes. Agave syrup is often used as a vegan alternative to honey in dishes that require a touch of sweetness. While it’s worth noting that, like all sweeteners, it should be consumed in moderation, agave syrup can be a great choice for vegans looking for a natural, plant-based sweetener.

You may also like our roasted almond crunch vegan granola made with agave syrup.

As we have seen, the question of vegan granola is not as clear-cut as it may seem. But if you are looking for a quality plant-based granola then check out our range.

This article was reproduced on this site with permission from the “Vegan Granola Manufacturers”.
See original article:- Vegan Granola. Why Not All Granola is Suitable for Vegans

The post Vegan Granola. Why Not All Granola is Suitable for Vegans appeared first on Mulberry Tree Breakfast Cereals.

Source link